Lack of Reassurance and Insurance

I called my new insurance company the other day to verify what they do or don’t cover for Infertility. I finally got to a person and asked the question. “What is your coverage on Infertility?” The man on the phone said the things you always hear,”Let me look you up to verify what is covered…SS#, DOB, Name, and whatever other information he asked I willingly gave to get my answers. He finally said,”We cover the testing of Infertility.” I was waiting for more words but nothing. I then asked, “What does that mean?” He said that any testing needed to find out the source of Infertility is covered” My testing is covered, OK Great, but what from there? What about my treatment after this “testing” that is covered? I asked with a fear because I already knew the answer. He didn’t say it for a reason so why even ask but I did. “What about treatment for the testing?” “No, that is not covered” was quickly heard coming from the other end of the phone. I responded with,”Just to make sure if I am tested for my tubes being clogged or Endometriosis and the results come back positive then the treatment for those things to be removed ,or whatever you want to call it, is not covered?” Another quick response,”Correct.” That was it. I am going to call tomorrow just to make sure because I find that odd. At least with my old insurance it covered treatment but new junk doesn’t.

I don’t know what to do. All the Fears are back and the Thankful is slowly dwindling away. I am almost wanting to put a pause to this whole thing(again) simply because of the cost. My dental bills are cut in half right now but I need more work done so those will go up again in no time. I am at a loss. I want to be a mother so bad and I want to have a baby so bad. I think that I am going to still do more research with my husband’s new insurance that would start in March. If that covers more than I will for sure switch to that and move forward with more testing. Even if I don’t move forward with Josh’s insurance that I will do the testing for Endometriosis for my own sanity. I have this gut feeling that is what it is and I’m hoping(and not hoping) that I am right. I think I am almost leaning on that diagnosis just so I have an answer. Infertility because of Endometriosis is better than Unexplained Infertility. We will just have to wait and see.

8 thoughts on “Lack of Reassurance and Insurance

  1. Endometriosis removal was covered for me even though treatment wasn’t. That shouldn’t be considered fertility treatment. Usually treatment is referring to things like IUI, IVF, and drugs. But removing endometriosis is done through a laparoscopy and that SHOULD be covered. My insurance was the same-only covered testing.

      • I agree with the BarrenLibrarian. When you talk to the insurance company, make the surgery & resulting treatment all about the Endo. And some women who were infertile prior to surgery become fertile turtles afterward. Endo can wreak havoc on your ovaries, tubes, & girly bits. Hang in there and keep us posted!

  2. Another question to ask for upcoming treatment/IF stuff- are ultrasounds covered. This may sound silly, but my insurance covers ALL ultrasounds, but do not cover any treatment at all. Ironically, this also includes all monitoring appointments- in one cycle this could add up to over $2,000. Also, to go along with what The Barren Librarian said, be careful with the word ‘infertility’, many times the people answering the phones hear that and just say, “It’s not covered.” Another thing you can do is contact the doctors office for a medical insurance code (before anything is done) and ask if that specific code is covered when you call the insurance company- then you know FOR SURE. Also, ALWAYS ask who you are speaking with and a confirmation number for the phone call. This may sound silly, but they then have to record your phone call and so it’s on file if you ask for a conformation code. If you do need any help, I’ve given my insurance company hell over the last 2 1/2 years and got to know my way around just email me if you have any questions. Hope your call goes well tomorrow.

  3. A tip, go through your obgyn for the Lap. I went through her and she performed the lap based on symptoms I had (pelvic pain, spotting, etc). It was covered by insurance. My insurance only covers diagnostics as well. Now that I am in the IVF planning, the dollars are adding up quick and our clinic requires an up front payment. It’s nuts. Seriously nuts. Good luck with your findings! I hope it works out.

Leave a Reply

